Program History

Making History

The Eagles 2013-14 basketball season got off to a promising start. CSE started 2-1 after a 71-53 victory over Cedar Crest. In the next game, the Eagles fell to Farleigh Dickinson University, the eventual 2013-14 NCAA Division III National Champions. Following a loss to Purchase College in the next game, the Eagles exploded for an 8 game winning streak, including wins over NEAC foes Cazenovia, Penn St Abington, Cobleskill and Penn St Berks. The Eagles also defeated SUNYIT, 85-83, for the first time in school history.

At the start of February, the Eagles won 4 of their first 5 games, including 3 conference wins, bringing their overall record to 15-7. On February 11th, Cheyenne Grant became the 1tth Screaming Eagle in school history to score her 1,000th career point. Despite losing 3 of the final 4 games, the Eagles found themselves in the number 2 spot in the South Division for the NEAC Tournament. This marked the 3rd straight season the Eagles have made the conference tournament under Head Coach Nicole Degenhardt.

The Eagles traveled to Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C. on February 25th to take on the Bison in the first round of the NEAC Tournament. Despite only having 7 healthy players, the Eagles fought the Bison tough, trailing just 2 points at halftime. The Eagles managed to take the lead midway through the second half, but couldn't maintain it as they fell to Gallaudet 69-61.

Despite losing in the first round, the Eagles still had a very successful season. Ashley Pledger lead the team averaging 17 points per game. Kelly O'Dell lead the Eagles down low, averaging a near double double with 9.9 points and 10.8 rebounds per game. O'Dell was named NEAC Player of the Week 3 times and Cheyenne Grant was named Player of the Week once. O'Dell and Pledger were also named to the NEAC Second Team All Conference for their incredible seasons. Despite losing seniors Kelly O'Dell, Subhana Wrights, and Cheyenne Grant, the Eagles will look to build off their successful season and make a run next season at the NEAC Title.