Athletic News Detail

CSE Celebrates 25th Annual Student Academic Leadership Awards

CSE Celebrates 25th Annual Student Academic Leadership Awards

Morristown, N.J. (February 19, 2014) – The College of Saint Elizabeth celebrated its 25th Annual Student Academic Leadership Awards Ceremony on February 11, 2014. Twenty-eight students were honored with this prestigious award presented by the Alumnae/i Association.

Established in 1989, the Student Academic Leadership Award recognizes current students who have achieved outstanding academic credentials and have demonstrated leadership both within the CSE community and/or their individual communities.

The night began with a warm welcome from Debra Martin, Executive Director of Alumnae/i Relations, followed by remarks from Mary Jane Londregan Meschino, '75, President of the Alumnae/i Association.

Keynote speaker, Ret. Col. Joanne Masteron Spahn, '82, offered her heartfelt congratulations to the awardees and recalled the beginning of her own journey at the College of Saint Elizabeth. She was followed by Dr. Carol Strobeck, Interim Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs, who delivered her message, beginning with, "Leadership experts tell us that strong leaders are not born, they are made."

The following students were awarded:


  • Kimberly Percario, Allied Health and Wellness;
  • Rebecca Byrne, American Studies;
  • Erika Hernandez, Art;
  • Jennifer Nkenke, Biology;
  • Ashley Sicsko, Business;
  • Melanie Dodds, Business;
  • Julianne Loveland, Communication;
  • Megan Weber, Education;
  • Cara McGrady, English;
  • Katerina Melekos, Foods and Nutrition;
  • Candace Bell, Foods and Nutrition;
  • Rowan Ghaly, Global Studies;
  • Alesandria De Sapio, History;
  • Chantelle Garcia, Justice Studies;
  • Laura Vargas, Justice Studies;
  • Marlene Taylor, Nursing;
  • Rebecca Mitchko, Philosophy;
  • Stephany Maldonado, Psychology;
  • Wendy Lertola, Sociology;
  • Amy Cooper, Sociology;
  • Jenifer Landin, Spanish;
  • Susan Delaney-Choma, Theology


  • Dr. Arnold Jeffrey White, Educational Leadership Ed.D.;
  • Rich VanTassel, Health Care Management;
  • Timothy Clyne, Nursing;
  • Lynda Hesse, Nutrition;
  • Lisa Luisi, Psychology;
  • Maria Torres, Theology

"Each of this year's recipients has clearly demonstrated her or his commitment to the College mission of leadership development," said Carol Strobeck. "At the same time we applaud their efforts, we encourage them to recommit themselves to the values that are at the heart of the College mission to continue to grow and contribute their vision to the world."